iGaming industry awards 2024

iGaming industry awards 2024

With such a competitive industry, it can be hard to find casino operators and providers which really stand out. This is why awards in the iGaming industry come in handy. We take a look at the different awards available for online gambling, and detail some of the noteworthy winners.

There’s a huge range of award ceremonies for just the iGaming industry, both worldwide and nation-specific. A simple Google search will reveal a huge list of different awards and categories available. We take a look at the best below.

Honouring the best in the iGaming industry

EGR Operating Innovator AwardsEvery year panels all over the world come together to deliberate on the best online casinos, software providers and other iGaming industry related services.

The judges review their contribution to the industry, their growth as a company, and individual criteria such as innovation, mobile user experience, and more factors are analysed. The best each year are then awarded at ceremonies all over the world and recognised globally as the best in the industry.

We take a look at some of the most prestigious iGaming awards and detail lesser known ones too, many of which some of our top online casinos and providers and have received.

Online casino awards

The International Gaming Awards (IGA) is one of the most recognised awards in the industry and features a long list of categories for both online and land-based gaming.

International iGaming AwardsThere are many categories which online casinos fall under including Online Casino Operator of the Year, Online Gaming Operator of the Year, Online Poker Operator of the Year, and Online Sportsbook Operator of the Year.

EGR also offer a branch designed to honour online gaming specifically in Australia, known as the EGR Australia Awards. The annual honours are given to online operators and providers which have excelled over the year, which are predominantly bookmakers due to the laws in our country for online gaming.

Software provider awards

Also known as B2B companies, software providers develop their games and offer them to casino operators, but are recognised for their games individually. Many of the major awards detailed above also have categories for B2B companies, including the IGA. We’ve detailed the categories and the 2016 winners below:

  • Best User Experience in Mobile Award – IGT
  • iGaming Software Supplier – Yggdrasil
  • Innovator of the YearMicrogaming
  • Mobile Product of the Year – Play’n GO
  • Pokies Provider/Supplier Product of the YearNetEnt

Along with the EGR Awards mentioned above, there’s also a specific recognition for B2B companies, known as the EGR B2B Awards. There’s over 35 categories, with our favourite providers taking out the following awards at the 2016 ceremony:

  • Mobile gaming software – Playtech
  • Innovation in mobile – Net Entertainment
  • Poker network – Playtech
  • RNG casino supplier – NetEnt
  • Poker software – Microgaming
  • Innovation in slot provision – NetEnt
  • Live casino supplier – Evolution Gaming
  • Multi-channel supplier – Playtech
  • Innovation in RNG casino software – Quickspin
  • Mobile supplier – Realistic Games
  • Slot provider – Yggdrasil Gaming
  • Platform of the year – NYX Gaming Group (Open Gaming System)

There’s also the Global Gaming Awards, which not only recognise software providers but operators and land-based gambling establishments too. The following software providers picked up awards at the 2016 ceremony;

  • Digital Product of the Year – Microgaming
  • Digital Industry Supplier of the Year – Playtech
  • Digital Gaming Innovation of the Year – NYX Gaming Group

You can find all of these software providers mentioned here at our recommended online casinos as detailed in the table above.

Licensing jurisdictions

While not as predominant as the aforementioned categories, licensing jurisdictions also earn awards. There are tonnes of smaller awards including ranking systems such as the Fast50, Hot50 etc., to recognise organisations which don’t really fit in the categories above.

For example, the Malta Gaming Authority, the advanced gaming jurisdiction which regulates many of our top online casinos – won the Fast50 Organisations Worldwide Award back in 2011 and has since made the list of nominees many years in a row.

Gaming jurisdictions don’t generally need awards, since the top are recognised by their earned reputation and only allowing the best online casinos to display their logos, so it is very easy to distinguish the bad from the good – but it doesn’t hurt to be recognised.

Enjoy award-winning real money games at any of the top-rated casinos in our table above.